Letrozole – 1 Month On

So those of who who have read earlier posts will know that I was placed on Letrozole in an attempt to curb my body’s current irritating desire to convert too much testosterone back to oestrogen. 

I am currently taking 1x 2.5mg tablet once a week. The side effects range from nothing, to severe dizziness and nausea. The pharmacist was not convinced that 

  • a- one tiny tablet a week would do anything; and 
  • b- that my body would get used to taking the medication with such a long stretch between doses. 

She strongly suggested I take it on a weekend just incase it sent me loopy. 
Here’s how I went:

Week One: Because I was told on a Monday that I should wait until the weekend to take my medication, I obviously decided to take it at 1100 that day at work. It took about an hour to kick in, but I started feeling very dizzy, tired and just generally worn out. About another hour passed and I started getting stomach cramps, which eventually led to a number of trips to the loo.

Two days later, I was fine. The dizziness only lasted an hour, the stomach issues were a different story. 

Week Two: Took the medication on Sunday afternoon this time around. The plan was that this way, I would be sleeping when the effects kicked in. 

I didn’t get dizzy at all this time around, however the stomach issues came back for about a day or so. 

Week Three: Nothing. No dizziness, no stomach issues. 

Week Four: Still nothing. Hopefully this means that my body has gotten used to the medication. 
I have noticed my desire for sweet things has been curbed, and I am losing some weight. Whether these things are medicine related or I’ve just gone off things, I don’t know. But I’ll take it. 

I see the endo again in November, it’ll be interesting to see what the blood results say. 

7 thoughts on “Letrozole – 1 Month On

  1. I’m on reandron as well however I’m on a 13 week cycle due to T levels quite high. When I started reandron my endo failed to do my booster at 6 weeks, that is when the problems started, T levels too low etc.

    It has been a challenge since. I’ll be interested to find out how you went after your endo app.

    Like

  2. Interesting, my endo prescribed me Letrozone after the failed attempt of Arimidex for 6 months.

    Had my first dose Monday seemed ok but say around 2am awakend by excruciating stomach cramps, whether if it had something to do with eating a bowl of pineapple, watermelon and honeydew an hour before going to bed?

    Didn’t make it to work the next day (which is today) and slept until 2pm. I feel like shit to sum it up.

    Shall be interesting to see if it works, its been over 3 yrs since transition and my endo still cannot find the right dose, my T is either excessive or my estrogen is too high. My endo is said to receive good reviews however I feel I’m the one going in with questions and answers he just seems to write me scripts, apparently the issues I’m having are not common with other FTM patients of his….I guess I’m a challenge for him it seems.

    Like

    • Well… it’s nice to know I’m not alone in this, that’s for sure! We tried stretching out my Reandron (now on a 10 week cycle), but the oestrogen is still too high. I see the endo again in a couple of weeks, it’ll be interesting to see what the blood results show!

      Like

Leave a comment